Counties in Illinois


Mercer County, Illinois

Mercer County is located along U.S. Highway 67 and State Highways 17 and 94 in the U.S. state of Illinois. The Mississippi River is located along the western border of Mercer County and is part of the Yellowbanks Territory, named by the Sauk and Fox Indians because of the yellow, sandy soil along the riverbank. Named after Revolutionary War hero General Hugh Mercer, Mercer County was chartered in 1835 as part of the old Northwest Territory and the Military Tract. As of 2010, the population was 16,434 a drop of 523 from 2000. The county seat is Aledo. Mercer County is one of the four counties that make up the Davenport-Moline-Rock Island Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Cities in Mercer County include: Aledo, Alexis, Joy, Keithsburg, Matherville, New Boston, North Henderson, Reynolds, Seaton, Sherrard and Viola

Aledo Facebook Page

Joy Facebook Page

Keithsburg Facebook Page

Matherville Facebook Page

New Boston
New Boston Facebook Page

North Henderson Facebook Page

Reynolds Facebook Page

Seaton Facebook Page

Sherrard Facebook Page

Viola Facebook Page

Henry County, Illinois

Henry County, Illinois is located in Northwester Illinois, just 16 miles from the Mississippi River dividing Illinois and Iowa. Henry County is primarily made up of rolling farmland, and is well known for hog, corn, soybeans and cattle production. The area is also dotted with wooded areas, rivers, lakes and streams.

While much of the county is agricultural in nature, the cities and towns of Henry County feature many manufacturing and business outlets. The county is served by Interstate Highways 80 and 74, plus both freight and passenger rail lines. In addition, Henry County is just 10 minutes form the Quad Cities International Airport.

These sites are representative of the County itself as they display constant growth and progress. Henry County continues to embrace progress and new technology. All this is possible through the citizens of Henry County. Over the years we have developed a .can do. attitude. Progress in Henry County takes place because of our citizens and our desire to be involved in our own future. We refuse to sit back and wait for someone else to drive our future. This is apparent in our schools, from grade school through college, and in our industries as they grow and expand through new ideas and technology.

Henry County features areas of great historical interest, including the Bishop Hill Colony, the Hennepin Canal, the Great Sauk Trail and other areas reflecting the rich heritage of the region.

Cities in Henry County, IL include: Alpha, Andover, Annawan, Atkinson, Bishop Hill, Cambridge, Coal Valley, Colona, Galva, Geneseo, Kewanee, Orion and Woodhull.

Alpha Facebook Page

Andover Facebook Page

Annawan Facebook Page

Atkinson Facebook Page

Bishop Hill
Bishop Hill Facebook Page

Cambridge Facebook Page

Coal Valley
Coal Valley Facebook page

Colona Facebook Page

Galva Facebook Page

Geneseo Facebook Page

Kewanee Facebook Page

Orion Facebook Page

Woodhull Facebook Page

Rock Island County, IL

With the Mighty Mississippi River to the north and west and the Rock River flowing through the center, Rock Island County offers a varied landscape ranging from rich agricultural fields to rolling bluffs. With low housing costs, exceptional health care, quality schools and a wide range of recreational activities and tourist attractions, it's no wonder Rock Island County is home to nearly 150,000 residents and thousands of visitors each year.

Rock Island County is part of the Quad Cities Metropolitan Area of approximately 360,000 residents, nestled along the Mississippi River on the Illinois/Iowa border between Chicago and Des Moines. The area is served by interstates I-80, I-88, I-74, I-280, several major state highways and the Quad City International Airport.

On February 9, 1831 the Illinois General Assembly established Rock Island County and defined its boundaries. In 1833 early pioneers approved formation of a county government with the first county election held on July 5th of that year. In 1856 petitions were submitted to the County Board requesting the formation of townships during the next election in November. In this election Col. George Davenport, John W. Spencer and George W. Harlan were the first County Commissioners elected along with Benjamin Axe being chosen first Sheriff and Levi Wells first County Coroner. This township form of government is still in existence after nearly 150 years.

Quad Cities Chamber of Commerce
Quad Cities Hispanic Chamber of Commerce

Cities in Rock Island county include: Andalusia, Carbon Cliff, Coal Valley, Cordova, East Moline, Hampton, Hillsdale, Milan, Moline, Oak Grove, Port Byron, Rapids City, Reynolds, Rock Island and Silvis.

Andalusia Facebook Page

Carbon Cliff Facebook Page

Coal Valley
Coal Valley Facebook Page

Cordova Facebook Page

East Moline
East Moline Facebook Page

Hampton Facebook Page

Hillsdale Facebook Page

Milan Facebook Page

Moline Facebook Page

Oak Grove Facebook Page

Port Byron
Port Byron Facebook Page

Rapids City
Rapids City Facebook Page

Reynolds Facebook Page

Rock Island
Rock Island Facebook Page

Silvis Facebook Page

Whiteside County, Illinois

A county rich in history, agriculture, and industry.

Whiteside County, Illinois was established on January 16, 1836. It is the namesake of General Samuel Whiteside who, as a major, fought in the Indian Wars in this section of the country from 1812 until the close of the Black Hawk War. The county also boasts the birthplace of President Ronald Reagan (in Tampico), the Albany Mounds State Historic Site and a segment of one of the first continental highways - U.S. Route 30, aka the Lincolnway Highway.

Morrison Illinois, the county seat, is centrally located on U.S. Route 30. The communities of Sterling and Rock Falls, located 15 miles to the east, comprise most of the county's 60,000 population.

Cities in Whiteside County include: Albany, Coleta, Como, Deer Grove, Erie, Fulton, Lyndon, Morrison, Prophetstown, Rock Falls, Sterling and Tampico.

Albany Facebook Page

Coleta Facebook Page

Como Facebook Page

Deer Grove Facebook Page

Erie Facebook Page

Fulton Facebook Page

Lyndon Facebook Page

Morrison Facebook Page

Prophetstown Facebook Page

Rock Falls
Rock Falls Facebook Page

Sterling Facebook Page

Tampico Facebook Page